LISTEN: First Track from New Red Hot Chili Peppers Album 'Unlimited Love'

'Unlimited Love'
Photo Credit
Warner Records

The 12th album from Red Hot Chili Peppers sees the group reunited with two of their most beloved collaborators.

Unlimited Love, due April 1, reunites the most-recognized lineup of the California funk rock icons: founding members Anthony Kiedis (vocals) and Flea (bass), drummer Chad Smith and returning guitarist John Frusciante. It's their first album with Frusciante since 2006's double album Stadium Arcadium. (Guitarist Josh Klinghoffer performed on I'm with You (2011) and The Getaway (2016).) Joining the group in the studio is longtime producer Rick Rubin, who oversaw all of their studio albums between mainstream breakthrough Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991) and I'm with You.

Hear lead single "Black Summer" below.

READ MORE: Red Hot Chili Peppers' 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik' Was Their Sweetest Victory

"We spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could," the band said in a statement. "Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt."

The band recently spoke to NME about the journey to Unlimited Love and the possibility of a follow-up album after their forthcoming stadium tour.

Artist Name

Read More

(Noam Galai/WireImage)
The band's manager thought it was going to get him fired. Paul Stanley felt screwed over. In retrospect, they actually (almost) made it work.
Pete Still/Redferns
A case for the iconic British singer.
Jeffrey Mayer/Archive Photos
The former bandmates came together during a Los Angeles concert.

Facebook Comments